Young and Early Career Geographers Working Group on Geography and Sustainability (YECG-GeoSus) announces its first members!

About YECG-GeoSus

YECG-GeoSus is an interdisciplinary working group of young and early career scientists interested in geography and sustainability, constituted within IGU in 2021 through the collaboration of IGU-YECG (International Geographical Union – Young and Early Career Geographers Task Force, and IGU-GFE (International Geographical Union – Geography for Future Earth: Coupled Human-Earth Systems for Sustainability,

The mission of YECG-GeoSus is to promote research and education in sustainable development for young and early career geographers involved in all branches of Geography. The members of YECG-GeoSus are as follows:

Governing Council:

Wenwu Zhao (Chair of IGU-GFE; Beijing Normal University, China)

Komali Yenneti (Chair of IGU-YECG; University of Wolverhampton, UK)


Gabriela Morosanu (Institute of Geography of the Romanian Academy, Romania)

Xutong Wu (Beijing Normal University, China)


Yiran Du (Geography and Sustainability, China)

Core members:

Mengyao Han (Institute of Geographic Sciences and Natural Resources Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Alexis Alamel (Sciences Po Rennes, France)

Sandamali Wijeratne (University of Colombo, Sri Lanka)

Eugenio Straffelini (University of Padova, Italy)

Regular committee members:

Jianxiao Liu (The University of Hong Kong, China)

Youjia Liang (Wuhan University of Technology, China)

Sujayita Bhattacharjee (University of Mumbai, India)

Oluwasegun Adetunde (University of Ilorin, Nigeria)

Radmila Jovanović (University of Malaga, Spain)

E-mail address of YECG-GeoSus:

Leave a Comment